WV Equine Laws
Transport Laws for WV and Other States
Below is a list of laws in regards to taking your horses in to and/or through West Virginia and other states.
Because laws can always change, we are providing direct links to each state’s section of legal code regarding transporting equines. Sometimes the links only get to the main page of the state and/or administrative code, and you have to locate the specific section yourself.
If the links do not work, do an Internet search for “West Virginia state code” (without the quotes, and substitute in whichever state you are curious about) and look in the section of code we reference.
If you find errors, or have additional information, please notify us, as we greatly appreciate any and all suggestions!
In summary, most all states require a health certificate, prepared by a certified veterinarian within 30 days of your entering that state. Most all states also require a negative coggins test that has been taken within the past 12 months. However, each state’s laws vary and you are strongly encouraged to review each state’s laws before traveling into (or through) those states.
- West Virginia – § 19-9-20 and State Rules §61-1-7
- Kentucky – Chapter 257.070 and Administrative Code 302 KAR 20:040
- Ohio – Title IX § 941.10 and Administrative Code Chapter 901:1-17-07
- Maryland – 15.11.01.05
- Pennslavania – Title 7 § 3.103
- Virginia – § 3.1-735 and Administrative Code Title 2 Agency 5 Chapter 140 Section 80
Notes: § means section.